Connie Mack Stadium

Philadelphia's Historic Ballpark


Connie Mack

"I guess more players lick themselves that are ever licked by an opposing team. The first thing any man has to know is how to handle himself."

(Cornelius McGillicuddy), 1862–1956, American baseball player and manager, b. East Brookfield, Mass. He was a star catcher for the Washington Senators (1886–89) and the Pittsburgh Pirates (1891–94). After gaining managerial experience with the Pittsburgh (1891–96) and the Milwaukee (1897–1900) clubs, Mack became (1901–50) manager, and ultimately chief owner, of the Philadelphia Athletics of the newly organized American League. Under his guidance the Athletics won nine pennants and five World Series, and he skippered his teams to more wins (3,731) than any other manager. In 1937 he was named to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. After 1937 he met with repeated illnesses, and increasing managerial responsibilities were given to his son, Earle Mack. Connie Mack continued as president of the Athletics until 1954, when the team was moved to Kansas City.

Source - Columbia Encyclopedia


The All-Time Philadelphia Athletics Team

Honored by the Philadelphia Athletics Society



First base: Jimmie Foxx

Second base: Eddie Collins.

Shortstop: Eddie Joost

Third base: Frank "Home Run" Baker

Outfield: Al Simmons, Sam Chapman, and Gus Zernial

Catcher: Mickey Cochrane

Left-handed pitcher: Lefty Grove, Bobby Shantz, and Eddie Plank, with Rube Waddell close behind and Lou Brissie next.

Right-handed pitcher: Chief Bender, George Earnshaw, and Jack Coombs, followed by Eddie Rommel and Phil Marchildon.

Manager: Connie Mack

The All-Time Philadelphia Phillies Team

Honored by "



The Fightin' Phillies

The Team
MGR:   Gene Mauch
1B:   Dick Allen, Ed Delahanty
2B:   Tony Taylor, Juan Samuel
SS:   Larry Bowa+, Dave Bancroft+
3B:   Mike Schmidt, Scott Rolen
LF:   Billy Hamilton*, Greg Luzinski
CF:   Richie Ashburn*
RF:   Sam Thompson*, Cy Williams*, Chuck Klein*
C:     Bob Boone, Darren Daulton*
SP:   Steve Carlton*
SP:   Pete Alexander
SP:   Curt Simmons*
SP:   Robin Roberts
SP:   Curt Schilling
RP:   Tug McGraw*
RP:   Ron Reed
RP:   Chris Short*
RP:   Rick Wise
RP:   Jim Konstanty

*Left-handed batter or pitcher

Asburn, CF
Hamilton, LF
Allen, 1B
Thompson, RF
Schmidt, 3B
Boone, C
Taylor, 2B
Bowa, SS

Honorable Mention: Kitty Bransfield (1B), Fred Luderus (1B), Don Hurst (1B), Eddie Waitkus (1B), Deron Johnson (1B), Willie Montanez (1B), John Kruk (1B), Rico Brogna (1B), Otto Knabe (2B), Bernie Friberg (2B), Fresco Thomspon (2B), Cookie Rojas (2B), Dave Cash (2B), Mickey Morandini (2B), Mariano Duncan (2B), Mickey Doolan (SS), Granny Hamner (SS), Bobby Wine (SS), Eddie Grant (3B), Jimmy Walsh (3B), Pinky Whitney (3B), Russ Wrightstone (3B), Willie Jones (3B), Charlie Hayes (3B), Dave Hollins (3B), Klondike Douglass (C), Red Dooin (C), Bill Killefer (C), Jimmie Wilson (C), Spud Davis (C), Clay Dalrymple (C), Andy Seminick (C), Stan Lopata (C), Mike Lieberthal (C), Greg Jefferies (UT), Lave Cross (UT), Sherry Magee (OF), Roy Thomas (OF), Johnny Titus (OF), Dode Paskert (OF), Gavvy Cravath (OF), Freddy Leach (OF), Johnny Briggs (OF), Johnny Moore (OF), Del Ennis (OF), Danny Litwhiler (OF), Johnny Callison (OF), Tony Gonzalez (OF), Don Demeter (OF), Jay Johnstone (OF), Garry Maddox (OF), Bake McBride (OF), Greg Gross (OF), Bob Dernier (OF), Milt Thompson (OF), Von Hayes (OF), Lenny Dykstra (OF), Chick Fraser (SP), Kevin Gross (SP), Red Donahue (SP), Dick Ruthven (SP), Terry Mulholland (SP), Jimmy Ring (SP), Clarence Mitchell (SP), Tully Sparks (SP), Ray Benge (SP), Larry Christenson (SP), Russ Meyer (SP), Bill Duggleby (SP), George McQuillan (SP), Wiley Piatt (SP), Erskine Mayer (SP), Randy Lerch (SP), Tom Seaton (SP), Johnny Lush (SP), Art Mahaffey (SP), Jumbo Elliott (SP), Frank Corridon (SP), Larry Andersen (RP), Heathcliff Slocumb (RP), Jeff Parrett (RP), Ricky Bottalico (RP), Jack Baldschun (RP), Turk Farrell (RP), Warren Brusstar (RP), Wayne Gomes (RP), Jerry Spradlin (RP), Don Carman (RP), Dick Selma (RP), Ron Schueller (RP), Bob Miller (RP), Andy Karl (RP)








Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict